You don’t want to drive under the influence. The State of Nebraska, along with the rest of the states, have very severe penalties for people convicted of drunk driving. The current look back period for prior offense is 15 years! Here are the consequences of Driving Under the Influence in Nebraska for all age groups and more than one offense.
Consequences of Driving Under the Influence in Nebraska
Over the age of 21 years
If you’re over the age of 21 years, you’re legally drunk if you have an alcohol reading of .08 or higher per 210 liters of breath. If caught for a first offense, you face a fine of up to $500 and a possible jail term of up to 60 days. Depending on the circumstances surrounding your arrest, you may face revocation of your driver’s license for a period of 6 months. However, if your blood alcohol reads 0.15 or more, you could face revocation of your license for up to 12 months.
Second-time DUI offenders
Second-time DUI offenders also face a fine of up to $500, as well as a possible jail term of up to 6 months. You risk losing your license for a period of 6 months. However, if your blood alcohol reading was 0.15 or higher, you may face a fine of up to $1,000 and up to 12 months in incarceration. Second-time offenders caught with blood alcohol levels above 0.15 may also receive a revocation of their driver’s license for a period of up to 15 years.
Third Time Offenders
Third-time offenders face a fine of $1,000, as well as a prison term of up to 1-year, and you may lose your license for up to 15 years depending on the circumstances around your arrest. However, if caught with a blood alcohol reading of 0.15 or higher, you may be fined up to $10,000, with a possible prison term of up to 5 years.
A fourth DUI conviction is a Felony offense. It will result in a fine of up to $10,000, with possible prison time of up to 3 years followed by post-release supervision and revocation of your license for up to 15 years.
Landing a fifth or more DUI conviction is a felony and may result in a prison sentencing and loss of your license for 15 years.
Drivers Under the Age of 21
It is illegal for a person under the age of 21 years old to drive under the influence of alcohol and the test threshold is .02 or above. The penalties are the same for all people arrested for DUI, but the burden on the State is much lower for those under the age of 21 years old.
If you are under the age of 19 it may be possible to have the matter transferred to the juvenile court.
DUI Penalties for Commercial Drivers or holders of a CDL
Drivers of commercial vehicles such as trucks and school buses are legally drunk with a blood alcohol level of 0.4 or higher. They face revocation of their commercial driver’s license for up to 3 years depending on the payload carried by the vehicle. Second-time offenders risk losing their commercial permit permanently.
If you have a CDL and are arrested driving a car the CDL will be revoked for one year. A second offense will prohibit you from obtaining a CDL.
Fowler & Kelly Law, L.L.P. DUI Defense Lawyers
At Fowler & Kelly Law, L.L.P., we provide knowledgeable, aggressive and informed advice for you DUI/OWI defense. As an experience DUI/OWI defense lawyer, we can:
- Protect your driving privileges
- Minimize the impact a DUI/OWI has on your life
- Inform you of your options
Avoid making mistakes and protect your license and your ability to drive. Once we begin representing you, the authorities may only communicate with you through us or while we are present. This ensures you will not hurt your case by making an inadvertent admission. Our personalized service allows our clients to make informed decisions that are in their best interests. Contact our office today.
We serve clients in Omaha, Council Bluffs, Lincoln, Fremont and all other areas throughout the eastern part of Nebraska and the western parts of Iowa. Other cities include Blair, Bellevue, Glenwood, Papillion, Plattsmouth, La Vista, West Point, Red Oak, Atlantic and Missouri Valley.